Tennessee wedding license laws are simple and affordable for potential brides and grooms from any state. You may obtain a marriage license at all the courthouses in Tennessee. The Smith County Clerk's office is just ten minutes from the hollow. Most of the state's County Clerk's office's are open from Monday through Friday from 8:00 until 5:00, though you should call the clerk's office that you are planning to use and confirm hours and directions.
1. Tennessee Law requires both the bride and groom to be 18 years old.
2. Both bride and groom must have either a valid drivers license, passport or birth certificate. If your Social Security number is not printed on your driver's license you will need to bring a Social Security card with you.
3. If you are not a United States citizen, you must present a valid passport.
4. If you have been married before you will also need the month and year of your divorce, or the date of your deceased spouse's death. If the bride has had a name change in her divorce and has not had her name changed on her drivers license, she will need to provide a certified copy of her divorce decree.
5. There are no waiting periods or blood tests. You can get married the same day as your license is issued and you may obtain your license up to 30 days prior to your wedding, however the license is only valid for 30 days. Both parties must be present to obtain a license.
6. Marriage licenses range from $90-$98 and each clerk's office only accepts cash. If you are traveling through East Tennessee on your way to Butterfly Hollow, you can save a little money by stopping in Sevier County to get your license. Since there are so many high volume wedding chapels in the Smokies, the county gives a discount for non-residents and only charges $38.50
A Southern Hospitality Country Bed and Breakfast.